College World Series Down to Elite Eight and Ready for Omaha

Gallery Icon

bill-swift - June 16, 2012

College baseball fans from around the country will be making their annual pilgrimage to Omaha, Nebraska this weekend as the 2012 College World Series kicks off.

The field is a mixture of veterans and newcomers to Omaha. Two teams are making their first trip to the Series (Kent State and Stony Brook). Four have taken second place in years past, but have never been able to win the title (Arkansas, Florida, Florida State, and UCLA). Only two are former champions including the winner of the last two CWS (South Carolina and Arizona; the Gamecocks won the last two CWS).

The eight remaining teams are seeded accordingly for the double elimination tournament.

  1. Florida
  2. UCLA
  3. Florida State
  4. Arkansas
  5. Kent State
  6. Arizona
  7. Stony Brook
  8. South Carolina

Starting the tournament off will be the UCLA Bruins and Stony Brook Seawolves Friday afternoon at 5 PM ET. Saturday night will mark the first time since 1960 that the previous season's championship match-up will be paired in the opening round (South Carolina Gamecocks vs. Florida Gators, 9 PM ET)

Tagged in: sports ,

Disclaimer: All rights reserved for writing and editorial content. No rights or credit claimed for any images featured on unless stated. If you own rights to any of the images because YOU ARE THE PHOTOGRAPHER and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us info(@) and they will be promptly removed. If you are a representative of the photographer, provide signed documentation in your query that you are acting on that individual's legal copyright holder status.