Facebook Blunder: Social Network Kills Off a User Who's Still Very Much Alive

When a user passes away on Facebook, the social network updates his or her existing page and turns it into a memorial profile. It seems like a pretty efficient system, except for when it's abused--as people found out in the case of a user named Brett Millett.

It was a typical day when Millett logged onto Facebook, but instead of the homepage, he was greeted with a notification that his page had already been memorialized.

In a post entitled "Someone memorialized my Facebook profile but I'm still alive!", Millett posted about his situation in StackExchange.

Apparently, it's pretty easy to memorialize someone's Facebook profile. I am greeted with the following message after entering my valid and correct username and password:

"Account Inaccessible This account is in a special memorial state. If you have any questions or concerns, please visit the Help Center for further information."

Millett muses that this could be a prank by some of his mischievous buddies, or a hacker who probably had too much time on his hands.

Apparently, you need my date of birth (which friends or friends with hacked accounts have access to) and a fake obituary (because no one atFacebook really reads them apparently).

-- Brett Millett

Facebook has since responded to the issue and said that Millett's account has already been restored. A spokesperson explained that although checks and measures are in place to make sure stuff like this doesn't happen, human error allowed cases like Millett's to slip through the cracks.

Tagged in: Gear

Around the Web